The Daniels wins DGA Award and now are frontrunners to win at the Oscars

  • February 19, 2023

The Academy Awards are less than a month away, and one of the awards that usually coincides with the Oscars every year is the one given by the Directors Guild of America (DGA) to the best in directing in the different audiovisual media.

In the 74 years that it has been held, only eight times the DGA winner has not coincided with the Best Director at the Oscars, and Saturday night was the 75th award ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The filmmaker who has won the award the most times is Steven Spielberg, who holds the record for nominations (13) and wins (3).

The last two awards of the night were the most anticipated, corresponding to the Drama Series and Movie categories. The former went to Sam Levinson, which won for its work on HBO’s Euphoria, while the latter, which was the most anticipated, went to the Daniels (Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert for Everything Everywhere All at Once.

These were the winners of the night

The complete list of winners at the Directors Guild Awards:

  • Outstanding Directorial Achievement In Theatrical Feature Film

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert for “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24)

Unit Production Manager: Allison Rose Carter, First Assistant Director: Rodney Smith, Second Assistant Director: John Nasraway, Second Second Assistant Director: Ken C. Wu

  • Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director

Charlotte Wells for “Aftersun” (A24)

Sam Levinson for Euphoria, “Stand Still Like the Hummingbird” (HBO)

Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager: Will Greenfield; First Assistant Directors: Valerie Johnson, Sally Brunski; Second Assistant Directors: Cindy King, Colin Duffy; Second Second Assistant Directors: James Chestnut; Additional Second Assistant Director: Aaron Rose Leone

Bill Hader for “Barry”, “710N” (HBO)

Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager: Aida Rodgers; First Assistant Director: Gavin Kleintop; Second Assistant Director: Erin Stern Linares; Second Second Assistant Directors: Yarden Levo, Chalis Romero

  • Movies For Television and Limited Series

Helen Shaver for Station Eleven, “Who’s There?” (HBO Max)

Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager: David Nicksay; First Assistant Director: Jennifer Wilkinson; Second Assistant Director: Anna Vogt

  • Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

Liz Patrick for Saturday Night Live, “Host and Musical Guest Jack Harlow” (NBC)

Directorial Team: Associate Directors: Michael Mancini, Michael Poole, Laura Ouziel Mack; Stage Managers: Gena Rositano, Chris Kelly, Eddie Valk

  • Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

Glenn Weiss for The 75th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)

Directorial Team: Associate Directors: Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Susan Kopensky, Ricky Kirshner; Stage Managers: Garry Hood, Bennymar Almonte, Phyllis Digilio, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Doug Fogel, Jeffry Gitter, Tyler Goldman, Arthur Lewis, Kevin Lishawa, Julie LoRusso, Seth Mellman, Jason Pacella, Jeffrey Pearl, Annette Powlis, Lauren Class Schneider, Eddie Valk

Ben Simms for Running Wild with Bear Grylls, “Florence Pugh in the Volcanic Rainforests of Costa Rica” (National Geographic Channel)

Directorial Team: Associate Director: Sara Brown

Anne Renton for Best Foot Forward, “Halloween” (Apple TV+)

Directorial Team: Unit Production Manager: Lance W. Lanfear; First Assistant Director: Nandi Bowe; Second Assistant Director: Susie Balaban; Second Second Assistant Director: Tim Neven

Kim Gehrig for Accessibility, Apple Apple (Direct)

First Assistant Directors: Michael Estrella; Second Assistant Director: Brian Steffen; Second Second Assistant Director: Shauna Frontera

Run Baby Run, iPhone Apple (Direct)

First Assistant Director: Matias Nilsson; Second Assistant Director: Carl Jackson; Second Second Assistant Director: Michael Paulson

Sara Dosa for “Fire of Love” (National Geographic)

#Daniels #wins #DGA #Award #frontrunners #win #Oscars